## RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE EASTSIDE WATER DISTRICT APPOINTING TWO NEW DIRECTORS

## Resolution Number 2018-01

WHEREAS, pursuant to California Water Code § 34708 the board of a California water district may adopt a resolution to increase the number of directors to serve on the board to seven (7), nine (9), or eleven (11) at any time at least 120 days before a general district election;

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the Eastside Water District ("District"), by Resolution 2017-01 adopted on January 19, 2017, increased its board of directors from five to seven positions; and

**WHEREAS**, the Board of Directors of the District adopted Resolution 2017-03 on November 16, 2017; and

**WHEREAS**, the Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors approved the amended bylaws at their December 19, 2017 meeting; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the District wishes to appoint the two new directors, who will serve for a term of office not to exceed four years (Cal. Water Code § 34708) and shall immediately assume that role until the next district general election; and

WHEREAS, the bylaws of the Eastside Water District requires that any person designated as a board member by the board of directors must be at least 21 years of age, and must hold title to land within the District (amended bylaws of the Eastside Water District page 2, paragraph V);

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors has considered all applications for the positions of two (2) at-large Directors and has identified the following candidates as the most qualified for the position:

- 1. Wes Sperry until December 2019; and
- 2. Ty Angle until December 2021.

**NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the Board of Directors for the Eastside Water District, that Wes Sperry and Ty Angle shall be appointed as at-large Directors and shall immediately assume that role until the next district general election.

## **CERTIFICATION**

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution 2018-01 was duly and regularly adopted by the Board of Directors of the Eastside Water District at the meeting thereof held on the 18th day of January 2018, motion by Ward Burroughs and seconded by Tim Johnson, motion passed by the following roll call vote:

AYES:

Ward Burroughs, Tim Johnson, Dexter Long, Norik Naraghi, and

Al Rossini

NOES:

None

**ABSTENTIONS:** 

None

ABSENT:

None

Chairman, Eastside Water District Board of Directors

The foregoing is a true and full copy of a resolution of the governing board passed and adopted at a duly convened meeting on the date set forth above, and said resolution has not been altered, amended, or repealed.

Secretary, Board of Directors