THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF STANISLAUS ACTION AGENDA SUMMARY

DEPT: Board of Supervisors	BOARD AGENDA #_*A-3
Urgent	AGENDA DATE April 21, 2009
CEO Concurs with Recommendation YES NO (Information Attached)	4/5 Vote Required YES NO
SUBJECT:	
Approval of Reappointment of Chris Savage and Andrew Va Pollution Control District Citizens Advisory Committee	an Allen to the San Joaquin Valley Unified Air
STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:	
Reappoint Chris Savage and Andrew Van Allen to the San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District Citizens Advisory Committee to three year terms ending on January 31, 2012.	
FISCAL IMPACT:	
There is no fiscal impact associated with this item.	
BOARD ACTION AS FOLLOWS:	No. 2009-238
On motion of Supervisor DeMartini , Secon and approved by the following vote,	ded by SupervisorGrover
Ayes: Supervisors: O'Brien, Chiesa, Grover, Monteith, and Clind Noes: Supervisors: None Excused or Absent: Supervisors: None Abstaining: Supervisor: None	
1) X Approved as recommended	
2) Denied 3) Approved as amended	
4) Other: MOTION:	

ATTEST:

CHRISTINE FERRARO TALLMAN, Clerk

File No.

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

2009 JAN 26 P 4: 06

GOVERNING BOARD

Chris Vierra, Chair Councilmember, City of Ceres

Tony Barba, Vice Chair Supervisor, Kings County

Judith G. Case Supervisor, Fresno County

Ronn Dominici Supervisor, Madera County

Henry Jay Forman, Ph.D. Appointed by Governor

Michael G. Nelson Supervisor, Merced County

William O'Brien
Supervisor, Stanislaus County

Leroy Ornellas Supervisor, San Joaquin County

John G. Telles, M.D. Appointed by Governor

Raymond A. Watson Supervisor, Kern County

J. Steven Worthley Supervisor, Tulare County

Vacant Large City

Vacant Large City

Vacant Small City, Central Region

Vacant Small City, Southern Region

Seyed Sadredin Executive Director Air Pollution Control Officer

Northern Region Office 4800 Enterprise Way Modesto, CA 95356-8718 (209) 557-6400 • FAX (209) 557-6475

Central Region Office 1990 East Gettysburg Avenue Fresno, CA 93726-0244 (559) 230-6000 • FAX (559) 230-6061

Southern Region Office 34946 Flyover Court Bakersfield, CA 93308 (661) 392-5500 • FAX (661) 392-5585 January 22, 2009

Christine Ferraro Tallman, Clerk to the Board of Supervisors Stanislaus County 1110 10th Street, Suite 6700 Modesto, CA. 95354

San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) Industry/Agriculture Primary and Alternate Members for Stanislaus County

Dear Ms. Tallman:

Re:

Pursuant to the San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District (Valley Air District) resolution of November 13, 1996 (Amended December 18, 2008), establishing the Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC), "Industry/Agriculture Members appointed by Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors, shall serve for terms of three (3) years". The resolution requires an alternate for all CAC positions.

This is to advise that the Industry/Agriculture Members' terms from your county will expire <u>January 31, 2009</u>. Therefore, we respectfully request the Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors appoint a Industry/Agriculture Primary and Alternate Member at the earliest possible date. The new term for each member would be through <u>January 31, 2012</u>. Incumbent CAC members may be reappointed by their respective appointing bodies.

The incumbent Industry/Agriculture Primary Member for Stanislaus County is:

Chris Savage

The incumbent Industry/Agriculture Alternate Member for Stanislaus County is:

Andrew Van Allen

Ms. Christine Ferraro Tallman Stanislaus County January 22, 2009

For your information, enclosed is a copy of the above mentioned resolution. In particular, pages 1 and 2, paragraphs "1. Membership and 2.) Membership Qualifications" should be helpful to you in the appointment process. Also enclosed, is the current CAC Roster and Schedule of Meetings.

When you complete the appointment process please notify the District of the new appointments with appropriate mailing addresses and phone numbers at your earliest convenience.

Please feel free to contract me at the Valley Air District, Central Region Office at (559) 230-6038 if you have any questions regarding this correspondence.

Sincerely,

Angelina DeSantiago Clerk to the Boards

enclosures

c. Supervisor William O'Brien
Chris Savage, Industry/Agriculture, Primary Member
Andrew Van Allen, Industry/Agriculture, Alternate Member
Mary-Michal Rawling, Chair, CAC
Seyed Sadredin, Executive Director/APCO