# THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF STANISLAUS ACTION AGENDA SUMMARY

DEPT: Chief Executive Office	Chief Executive Office BOARD AGENDA #_*B-7	
Urgent ☐ Routine ☐ ←	AGENDA DATE June 3, 2008	
CEO Concurs with Recommendation YES NO	4/5 Vote Required YES NO X	
SUBJECT:		
Approval to Recognize the Accomplishments of the its Pre-Development Advisory Purpose and to Forr	e Crows Landing Steering Committee for Fulfillment of mally Discontinue the Committee	
STAFF RECOMMENDATIONS:	<u>·</u>	
Recognize the Accomplishments of the Crows Lar Pre-Development Advisory Purpose and to Forma		
FISCAL IMPACT:		
There is no fiscal impact associated with the propo	sed action.	
BOARD ACTION AS FOLLOWS:	No. 2008-383	
and approved by the following vote,  Ayes: Supervisors: O'Brien, Monteith, DeMartini and Cha	, Seconded by SupervisorO'Brienirman_Mayfield	
Excused or Absent: Supervisors: Grover		
Abstaining: Supervisor: None		
1) X Approved as recommended 2) Denied		
3) Approved as amended		
4) Other:		

Orristne Terraro

ATTEST: CHRISTINE FERRARO TALLMAN, Clerk

Approval to Recognize the Accomplishments of the Crows Landing Steering Committee for Fulfillment of its Pre-Development Advisory Purpose and to Formally Discontinue the Committee

#### **DISCUSSION:**

On November 7, 2000 the Board of Supervisors established the Crows Landing Steering Committee to assist with developing a project description for the Crows Landing Air Facility project area. When initially established it was anticipated that the pre-development process would be completed by end of year 2003. Over the course of several years, the steering committee met quarterly to review development progress and to provide input to planning direction.

On April 22, 2008 the Board of Supervisors approved proceeding with a project development description presented by PCCP West Park, a developer candidate that had worked directly with the Steering Committee and County staff for an exclusive multi-month period beginning in February 2007. Thus, the pre-development advisory roll of the committee has ended.

The Crows Landing Steering Committee is to be commended for it's due diligence and resiliency, and for providing an invaluable advisory perspective to this important economic development project area.

#### **POLICY ISSUE:**

The Board should determine whether it is timely and appropriate to discontinue the Crows Landing Steering Committee and to recognize the work contribution of the membership as supportive to the Board's priority of ensuring a strong local economy through business park development and job creation objectives for the communities of Stanislaus County, and supportive of the Board's priority of establishing strong local partnerships.

### STAFFING:

Existing staff facilitated through the Chief Executive and including Planning and Community Development, Redevelopment, Public Works, Department of Environmental Resources, and County Counsel (County Crows Landing development team) continue to work on this development project.

## CROWS LANDING STEERING COMMITTEE - PAST AND PRESENT

Jim DeMartini	Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors
Dick Monteith	Stanislaus County Board of Supervisors
Becky Campo, Mayor	City of Patterson
David Keller, Mayor (previous)	City of Patterson
Cleve Morris, City Manager	City of Patterson
Annette Smith, Council member	City of Patterson
John Fantazia, Mayor	City of Newman
Allan Sanquinetti	Community of Crows Landing
Levurn Berberia	Community of Crows Landing
Jonathan Partridge	Community of Patterson
Richard Dobbs	Community of Patterson
David Reed	Community of Newman
Earl Perez	Agriculture Interests
Andrew Souza	Community of Crows Landing
Arsenio Mataka	Planning Commission
Andrew Souza	Planning Commission
Paul Caruso	County of Stanislaus
Janine Goubert	Supervisorial District One
Debbe Robinson	Supervisorial District One
Robert Phillips	Supervisorial District One
Robert Deklinski	Supervisorial District One
John Rogers	Supervisorial District One
Matt Swanson	Supervisorial District Two
Sergio Cuellar	Supervisorial District Two
Steve Madison	Supervisorial District Three & Building Industry Assoc.
Tom Burns	Supervisorial District Three
Jim Van Heukelem	Supervisorial District Four
John Evans	Supervisorial District Four
Andrew Souza	Supervisorial District Four
Ed Persike	Supervisorial District Five
Doug Stephens	Supervisorial District Five
Norm Crow	Supervisorial District Five
Lisa Mantarro-Moore	Office of Representative Cardoza